Public Lands

Public Lands

Click here to access NCEL's external website on Public Lands

Most of the public land owned by the federal government is managed by four agencies: the Interior Department's Fish & Wildlife Service (F&WS), the Bureau of Land Management (BLM), the National Park Service (NPS) and the Agriculture Department's U.S. Forest Service (Forest Service).

The NPS and F&WS are responsible for the nation's natural and historical resources -- the parks, monuments and wildlife refuges, where commercial activities, such as mining and energy development, are generally prohibited.

The lands held by BLM and the Forest Service are the country's natural resource storehouses, such as timber, coal, and onshore oil and gas reserves. Wilderness designations, where development and commercial activities are strictly prohibited in order to maintain the natural characteristics of the area, are throughout the land holdings of all four land management agencies.

Policy Primer

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Conservation Issues Page of F&WS

Habitat Page of the Sierra Club

Wildlands Campaign Page of the Sierra Club

The National Park Service

The Bureau of Land Management

USDA Forest Service
Participant's Page
Copyright © 2001 - 2015
National Caucus of Environmental Legislators
All Rights Reserved